Skip to content

1:21 or 2:21

March 6, 2011

As I may or may not have stated in the past, I’m a leader for the high school ministry at my church. This morning during Sunday school the speaker asked a pretty profound question in a way that I have never heard it put before. He asked if we were living a Philippians 1:21 life, which states, “For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain” or a Philippians 2:21 life, which states, “For everyone looks out for his own interests, not those of Jesus Christ“.

So basically, am I living my life for Christ and the advancement of His kingdom, or am I living it for myself and my own selfish motives? Woah…

Not one is perfect. We all have our selfish moments; I know that I have. But how many times am I living for myself rather than living for the God? Serving the One who gave me a hope for the future? The One who sacrificed his only son so that I can have eternal life? I really don’t have an excuse except for the fact that I’m an imperfect human, but that will only pardon so much of my behavior. I challenged my girls (and myself) to post a little reminder somewhere that they could see it every day.

Are you living a 1:21 or a 2:21 life?

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 12:17 pm

    I tagged ya in my last post. Just a lil FYI.

Leave a Reply

