Skip to content

Bereft

January 16, 2011

“I’m leaving you well and whole. That’s my parting gift to you. Peace. I don’t leave you the way you’re used to being left—feeling abandoned, bereft. So don’t be upset. Don’t be distraught.” – John 14:27 (The Message)

I’ve been struggling with the concept of peace lately. I’ve been feeling pretty discontent with where the Lord has me, and that’s never a good think. This verse has spoken to me fairly regularly over the last few weeks. I’m all too familiar with the visual that comes with how the world typically leaves us feeling, abandoned and bereft.

I will admit that I had to look up the word ‘bereft’. Other related words for bereft are: lovelorn, unbeloved, bereaved, grief-stricken, grieving. How true is that? I can agree fully that the world leaves me feeling all of the above and then some. But how amazing is it that we have a God who will never leave us feeling like that. With Him we are always loved; we are His beloved.

As much as I hate these feelings of abandonment, God has used them to draw me closer and closer to Him. He is showing me that He is everything that I need and that He has always and will continue to take care of me and my mending heart. It’s in these low moments where the only thing that I can do is call out to my Savior, and shoot does He show up. The current path that I’m on is a bit bumpy, but my destination is so worth the journey.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

