Skip to content

He Is Jealous For Me

November 14, 2010

“He is jealous for me….”
-Lyrics from “How He Loves” by John Mark McMillan

What does that even mean? How can the creator of the universe be jealous, for me?
Because He loves me and wants me to find my fulfillment in Him, and Him alone.

“I am jealous for you with a godly jealousy. I promised you to one husband, to Christ, so that I might present you as a pure virgin to him. But I am afraid that just as Eve was deceived by the serpent’s cunning, your minds may somehow be led astray from your sincere and pure devotion to Christ.”
-2 Corinthians 11:2-3

This is Paul speaking, but he still refers to his jealousy as a godly jealousy. He was experiencing the same heartache that God experiences when our focus goes from Him towards other things. I know how sly Satan can be, and I’ve experience first hand my attention being drawn from God towards worldly things that seem so attractive at the time. Unfortunately, more often than not, by the time I realize where my attention has gone I’m found in an ugly pit of sin cheating on the One who created me. I have been created to be in a relationship with my Creator, and every time I seek out other things I am cheating on Him and it breaks His heart.

All I know is that I don’t want to “cheat” on God anymore. I want to stop giving God my divided attention and start giving Him my full, undivided, attention. I am ready to be faithful to the One who is faithful to me, even when I cast Him aside to pursue something else.

Are you ready to be done cheating?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

