Skip to content

Scars

October 28, 2010

I feel like it’s a safe statement to say that we all have been left with scars due to poor choices at some point or another. I am one who definitely falls into that category. I’ve made poor decisions in the past that have left me with some not so awesome scars that, as a consequence, I get to live with for the rest of my life.

This last weekend (Oct 22-24) I was blessed with the opportunity to go as a leader for the high school girls on their purity retreat. The speaker was amazing and really hit a lot of points home. The Lord definitely did a work in my own heart through out the entire weekend. Things really hit me Saturday afternoon.

As leaders, we asked the girls to write down any and all questions that they had for us. We got the standard “How far is too far”, “When should I start dating”, etc. However, there was one little piece of paper in the bunch that jumped right out at me. The question was related to having so many scars, that she didn’t see the point in even trying anymore (sadly, that’s the best that I can give, since it appears that my purse ate the little piece of paper). The point is, I have been so caught up on my own scars these last few weeks, that God wanted to speak directly to and through me in regards to this. I felt the Lord poking at me saying, “Lace… This is yours. You need to talk about this question”.  A little reluctantly I said yes. I’ve been struggling with my own scars so much recently, I didn’t feel like I was in the position to talk to the girls about it.

I took it anyway and not only did the Lord begin to speak wisdom into my heart, but truth to combat my struggles with Satan’s lies about my scars.

Earlier that weekend 1 John 3:20 jumped right off the page at me saying “…for whenever our heart condemns us, God is greater than our heart, and he knows everything.” God was telling me that he has seen my heart and all the ugly in it, and he still loves me no matter. I had began to let Satan work in my heart and started to believe his condemning lies about my past and how God sees all of my sin and is judging me on it. FALSE! As a Christian who has asked for forgiveness, my slate has been wiped clean and God no longer sees my nasty, ugly scars. He only sees the beautiful, pure, holy, and perfect woman that He has created me to be.

Wow. Talk about blowing my mind.
But wait… it gets even better.

After voicing all of that, another woman spoke up and offered even more insight into what scars really are. She pointed out that scars represent healing and that even Christ has scars. The cause of the scars may be ugly, but all that they can represent makes them so beautiful. My scars may be from poor decisions in an ugly moment in my past, but they represent love, forgiveness, redemption, purification, and so much more.

Beautiful. Just beautiful. I am still in awe when I think about that.

I am so loved.

You are so loved.

We all are so loved by one amazing God.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

