Skip to content

Sacrifice

September 21, 2010

I originally intended on starting this post off with the definition of sacrifice. However, dictionary.com gave me 12 different definitions. Most of which did not apply to the type of sacrifice that I want to talk about. The type of sacrifice that has been on my heart for the last week is the one defined third on the list:

“The surrender or destruction of something prized or desirable for the sake of something considered as having a higher or more pressing claim.”

We are currently going through the book of Exodus in my college group. Last week one of the points that my pastor, Randy, hit was living a life of sacrifice. This has been a concept that I’ve heard time and time again through-out my walk, but have never really understood what is meant by it. I’m still not fully sure if I understand, but I can tell that God is asking me to sacrifice some things in my life by giving them to Him to take care of.

The first thing, which he brought to my attention last week, is my search for a job. Backing up a little, I recently started helping out as a leader with the high school group at my church. This has been on my heart since LTSP and just recently God’s provided me with the opportunities to start getting involved. They meet 3 different times a week and as a leader I am committed to being at 2 of those meetings as well as meeting with them where they are (school, inviting them with me to run errands, etc). Looking at that commitment paired with my school schedule it doesn’t leave a lot of extra time for a job. Oh… I’m also volunteering at the coffee house located in the Salem House of Prayer two days a week. So where does the sacrifice come in to play here? With out sacrificing the availability I have/had for a part-time job, there’s no way that I would be able to be involved in either ministry. There just aren’t enough hours in the day. But here’s the cool thing. In taking that step of faith and getting involved where God is asking me to, He’s provided me with different opportunities to make money that work so perfectly with the schedule He’s given me. Cool, eh?

So that’s the immediate result of this new living sacrifice idea. Let us fast forward to tonight’s college group. Randy didn’t speak on this topic directly (or really at all now that I think back on it), but God was definitely speaking it to me. At the end of his message, Randy brought up his plan of getting 100 young people active in the church leadership (from Sunday school teachers to committee members) someway or another over the next 5 years. Since I’m graduating this spring, I’ve been pondering where I’m going to end up in the near future lately. Will I stay here? Go back to Washington? Being honest here, and sorry mom if you read this as I’m not trying to give you a heart attack, but I felt God really telling me tonight that He wants me to be a part of the 100 young people that Randy is looking for. Again, where does sacrifice come into play now? As with most people, I have had my own plans, dreams, and desires. I feel called to sacrifice all of those in order for God to come in and orchestrate His plan and desire for my life.

Just the thought of giving up so much control scares me enough to want to hide under my covers for the rest of my life. However, just as He promised Moses when he was scared and throwing every question and excuse at God he could think of, He’s promising me those same things now. “I will be with you” and “I will help you”. I have more than enough with God.

“Do not neglect to do good and to share what you have,
for such sacrifices are pleasing to God”

Hebrews 13:16

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

