Skip to content

OOOOH…. Our Camp’s a Hullaballoo!

September 11, 2010

For 6 of the last 9 summers kids have known me as ‘Ace’. Ace is fun, crazy, loves to sing silly songs, acts like a total fool, and smells of lake water and campfire. In all reality, Ace isn’t much different from the everyday me, but it is still a persona that I love to put on.

Camp has become a huge part of my life. I went as a camper for many years and then as soon as I was able to start working at camp, I did. I volunteered  for 2 years as a counselor in training/kitchen patrol and have now worked as a paid counselor for 4 different summers. In the summer of 2008 I thought that I was hanging up my wood-cookie, calling my days at camp over. However, I was given the amazing opportunity to work at camp once again this summer. The director was told by my little brother that I was in town a few weeks ago and he called me up and asked if I was interested in coming out for the rest of the week since they were short 2 girl counselors. After working those 3 days, I felt as if I was teased with only a half-week of camp and was left longing for more. Unfortunately I was not needed to come back for another week. That was until 3 week later. I was called up and asked to come out for a full week of camp! Wahoo!! Ace is back!!

This last week was amazing and left me wondering why I thought I was done with camp. I realize that it does not pay as well as most summer jobs, but it is something that I truly love. I have never had a job that I love as much as I love this job. I get paid to hang out with kids all day playing games, doing crafts, singing songs, running around the woods, swimming in the lake, and re-living my childhood every week.

I am not sure if going back to camp next year is in the picture, however, I do know that I am so thankful that camp has been a part of my life.

Who doesn't want to spend their days here?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mama Kristy permalink
    September 17, 2010 9:41 am

    You go with where your heart is, and every summer your heart is at camp! I think it’s wonderful, and you should do this as much as you can. You can teach the kids what you learned. I never went to camp as a kid, so I don’t know what it’s like. But YOU do. Have fun with that for as long as possible.

    Love you, my grown Oregon daughter!

Leave a Reply

