Skip to content

You Capture- Fresh

April 14, 2010

Just a little disclaimer, as I often do, I took a bit of liberty with this week’s theme. Monday was Holocaust Remembrance Day. WOU (Western Oregon University) remembers in a way that will make you stop in your tracks. It is what I would consider to be a fresh take on remembering one of the most horrific events in our world’s history.

Each flag represented 500 people

I wish I was able to capture the effect of seeing all of those flags lining both sides of campus. You cannot help but stop what you’re doing and just take in what those flags represent.

For more happy you capture’s, check out Beth’s blog!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2010 10:10 pm

    I’m a history teacher and it is harder every year to get students to really understand the depth of the Holocaust. I’m glad you chose this as your subject! Maybe not what people would expect, but a good reminder of all that we have!

    p.s. you linked to an old youcapture from your blog

  2. April 14, 2010 11:34 pm

    wow. That is so cool. well said really but so cool that the school does something like that. I can only imagine what it feels like to see all of those flags in real life. But seriously, wow. So moving. Thanks for sharing.

  3. April 15, 2010 12:01 am

    Thank you for the reminder.

  4. April 15, 2010 4:48 am

    Wow. Amazing to see the vastness of it all and to think that each flag is not one but one hundred is just stunning. I’ve been putting off going to the holocaust museum here, but I’m definitely going to have to pack my tissues and just go.

  5. April 15, 2010 6:22 am

    Wow…that would be overwhelming to see! Thanks for sharing!

  6. anneawesome permalink
    April 15, 2010 7:29 am

    Wow. That is really moving.

  7. April 15, 2010 8:39 am

    That is pretty sobering. Thanks for sharing.

  8. April 16, 2010 7:28 pm

    That is the most unique take on fresh I’ve seen. It certainly put “fresh” thoughts in my head and helped me to appreciate all the little things in my life today. Thank you for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

