Skip to content

Those Who Wait

March 8, 2010

This weekend I went on a retreat with my college group up to Sandy, OR (sadly I forgot my camera, so I didn’t get any pictures). I had been contemplating on going for a long time. I wasn’t wanting to ask for the time off from work so I told Ryan (our pastor) that if I happened to get the weekend off, I would go. Long story short, a week later I was fired from Coldstone and God had given me the weekend off. After some encouragement from Lee and some other friends I had decided to go.

Considering the circumstances of how I got the weekend off, I wasn’t totally thrilled to be going and missing out on a weekend that could have been spent with Lee, and working on all of my homework. The fact that I was leaving all of my homework behind (as encouraged by Ryan) the weekend before “Dead Week” had me a little stressed. I had also been stressing on the inside about my lost job and a few other things. They were beginning to take over my life and I was wearing down fast. The theme of the weekend was “Rest and Renewal” and little did I know, God was going to deliver.

On Saturday we had a personal reflection time and all read and reflected on Psalm 23. All of us who had grown up in the church had heard this single psalm countless times, yet somehow God spoke to us all through it. There were a few parts that really stood out to me and put me back in my place. Verse 2 says that “I shall not want” and verse 5 says that “my cup overflows”. It was these 2 little phrases that had me realizing some things. My cup overflows with all that God has provided. He has provided everything that I could ever need, therefore I don’t need to want anything but Him. Here is where it gets really cool…..

Earlier that morning I got a text from a friend who works at Starbucks. I have been trying to get hired at a Starbucks for over a year now. It is my dream job. Anyway, she sent me a text telling me that her manager was wanting to hire another person and she gave her my name. AH!! I had a brief moment of panic thinking about how I’m going to make sure she gets my application without any internet access, but then I came back to reality. I started thinking about how the whole point of the weekend was to become renewed and refreshed, and how neither of those were going to happen if I was going to stress about this.

Then came the personal reflection time. It was in that moment where God really came down and said, “If I want you to get this job, your application will get to her someway, somehow, and in MY timing”. Wow. God really is taking care of me and my every need. Then to top it all off, my “Daily Bread” devotion was all about not being anxious but bringing everything to the Lord in prayer (Phil 4:4-7). Again, this has been a passage that has really spoken to me over the last year, but God wanted to show me something else. He highlighted verse 7 which says “And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus“. I’ve been dwelling on not worrying and bringing everything to the Lord, but I never thought about what comes next. God gives me peace. And not just any peace, but peace that passes all understanding. Peace that is eternal and will never go away. Peace that I can find confidence in.

I’m not sure what it going to happen with this whole Starbucks thing, but I do know that God is taking care of me and I will be patient for all that he has planned. I will wait for Him.

“But those who wait upon God get fresh strength.
They spread their wings and soar like eagles,
They run and don’t get tired,
they walk and don’t lag behind.”
-Isaiah 40:31 (The Message)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

