Skip to content

A Game of Monopoly

September 27, 2009

Being in college, the one thing that bothers me the most is the price of textbooks. With classes starting up this Monday, I went to the bookstore to check prices on my books this term so I can budget my money for it. Lets just say that I walked out almost in tears,  and on the verge of having a heart attack. The grand total of my books this term is: drum roll please….. $467. And this is for only 12 credits/4 classes. Over $200 in books is for one class alone. Another class has a $93 book, and that’s only one of the two books that are needed.

It’s ridiculous how much of a monopoly textbooks are. As a college student, I feel as if I could speak for most (if not all) of my fellow poor college students when I say this. We cannot afford to drop almost $500 a term for books. Really… how much does it cost to produce said books? I’m fed up with watching my money fly out the window every time a new term rolls around. Tuition is pricey enough, I would rather not deal with over priced textbooks.

What would happen if all of the students came together and said “we won’t pay this much”?
Can we boycott university bookstores?
Can we take a stand against the publishing companies?

All I know is that I’m sick of it. Are you?

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 27, 2009 12:55 pm

    Have you checked half.com or amazon.com? I know it may be different since I’m just going to a community college and you’re going to a University, but I was able to find all of my necessary textbooks on those websites and only had to pay $130 instead of the $300 I would have had to pay. It’s always worth checking out!
    I agree, though, books shouldn’t be as expensive as they are.

Leave a Reply

