Skip to content

5 Loaves and 2 Fish Worth of Jobs

June 24, 2009

This summer we are going through the book of John as a project, learning about the character of Christ. For my quiet times, my “Life Coach” (as my Life Group likes to refer to her) encouraged me to read a chapter of John a day. I recently read the beginning of John 6 where the story of Jesus feeding the 5,000 is. This is a story that I have heard time and time again. Going into this quite time I felt as if there was nothing new to learn from this story. God proved me wrong… as usual. Once I started to read, God started to show me how this story can and does apply to my life. Here’s what I learned….

My fellow LTSPers and myself represent the 5,000. The jobs (or lack there of in out eyes) represent the 5 loaves and 2 fish. If  Christ was able to feed all of these people and have leftovers, then what makes me think the He can’t/isn’t going to provide summer jobs for 80 college students? Nothing. There is nothing that God cannot do, including getting me a summer job. There is a job out there for me in a basket somewhere, it’s just that the basket of jobs has not gotten to me yet.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

