Skip to content

God’s Timing and Provision

June 3, 2009

I’ve been praying, and praying, and praying some more, about support for summer project a whole lot over the last month or so. Support raising was starting to become something that I was stressing about and worrying about and getting super anxious about. It’s been crazy how much scripture I’ve had pop up dealing with all of those emotions. God does not want us to stress, or worry, or be anxious. He knows exactly when I need those little reminders. And he also knows exactly when He’s going to provide for me. A neat thing about God and His character is that as soon as I start following scripture and what He’s asking me to do, he follows through with what He promised me. My biggest example is from today.

For quite a long time I felt that God was telling me to contact some specific speakers that we had speak at Crusade one week. Well all of them are complete strangers to me so there was no way that I was going to ask them to support a person that they don’t even know. Well as time went on and I was getting closer and closer to project, I realized how much support I needed. At this time it was about a month until I leave and I was only 17% raised. I finally listened to God and emailed all 3 speakers. Only one got back to me, but I was able to meet with her and talk about my project and a few days later she mailed me a check. Wow. What a blessing! So after that I thought that the other 2 weren’t interested in supporting me so I left that idea alone. That is until last week when one of my Bible study leaders told me about how one of the other 2 people I contacted was a huge supporter for her project. She insisted that I call him and ask to meet with him. HAH! There was no way that I was going to call a stranger and ask for money. No way, no how. No surprise here, God won that argument. I called this man yesterday, scared out of my mind, and somehow set up a meeting with him for today to talk about my summer project. So today I arrive to his business and enter his office. He instantly starts asking me questions about anything and everything. From my major, to my plans after college, to my involvement in Crusade, to boyfriends and piercings. At the end of our hour long talk, he said that he was going to write a “little check” for me. This “little check” ended up paying for half of my trip. I cannot get over the generosity!

Throughout this entire support raising process God has really stretched me. He has taught me to trust in Him, and to not question what He’s asking me to do. It’s been a crazy journey thus far, and it’s only just beginning.

I ask that you continue to be praying for me while I’m continuing to prepare for project and while I’m in Lake Tahoe. Another thing that I would ask of you to consider is helping me become 100% supported by the time I leave on the 10th. Despite the very generous gift from today, I am still short about $400. Whether you can financially support me or not, or maybe you already have, your prayers are still a very important part of what God is doing in my life right now.

Thank you all for your love and support and prayers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

