Skip to content

Nobody Said it Was Going to Be Easy

January 12, 2009
tags: ,

I’ve been asked quite a few times already how my first week of class has been this term. It’s been alright. My classes this term are really reading intensive. I had to buy over $300 worth of text books! Ugh… so not my idea of fun. One class in particular is probably going to be my hardest class in my entire college career for more than just the amount of reading involved. The class that I’m talking about is my Rhetoric of the Women’s Movement. At first this sounded like a really interesting class. I’ve always been fascinated with the women’s movement so this sounded like the class for me. Little did I know my instructor would be a crazy intense feminist which would put a ridiculous bias on the direction of the class.

I had my second day of this particular class on Thursday. My professor got to the point in class where she wanted to know who all considered themselves feminists. At first only about 3 people raised their hands. Then she redefined feminism as something along the lines of wanting equal rights for women. I know that it isn’t really that simple and there is a lot of things about feminism that I don’t agree with being a Christian and believing what the Bible says about the roles of women and men. Anyway, after my professor redefined feminism all but my friend Michelle, another Christian girl, and I raised their hands. My professor then looked directly me with a very displeased look and asked if I could enlighten the class on why me hand was not raised. After a deep breath and a quick prayer I said “Honestly, it’s my religious beliefs. I honestly believe that the man should be the head of the house hold.” That was no what she was wanting to hear. A little later in class one of the few guys in the class was arguing a point that I agreed with. Well i stated that I agreed and why; the entire time my teacher avoiding eye contact with pursed lips.

I wasn’t planning on laying my faith out on the table like that so early in the term, but now it is. I know that this professor isn’t the biggest fan of Christians, especially those who will make a case for their faith in class. Thursday’s class marked the start of a difficult next 10 weeks.I know that God says that we are going to be hated for what we believe, but this really is my first experience being disliked like this. I’m praying that God is with me every second I’m sitting in class as well as with my friend Michelle.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Renee permalink
    January 12, 2009 9:38 am

    Whoa…. hang in there, Lacy! I’m so proud of you for standing up for your beliefs. Stay strong.

  2. January 12, 2009 10:24 am

    I am proud of you. Very proud. You’re a great friend and wise for your age. Stand strong, God will honor it.

  3. January 13, 2009 9:27 pm

    I can see how a comment like “..the man should be the head of the house hold” could be a heinous remark to someone with feminist views. You aren’t relating that to just yourself, you are encompassing all women and all households in that belief. It is kind of like you said “Your man should be the head of Your household.”
    While I applaud standing up for what you believe in, I really do, I have to say that I really disagree with the statement. Dominic will not be the head. It is going to be team work the whole time. But that is just me. Other homes are very different. Your belief doesn’t hold water in a home that is run by a single mother or a widower or my parents house. My father, he thinks he is the head of the house, but if something were to happen to him, we could power throuh it. Now, if something were to happen to my mother, the whole family would fall apart.

    • January 14, 2009 4:47 am

      I’m not trying to say that my husband is going to be the glue to keep my family together or that he’s going to reign over me. Marriage is a team effort no doubt. Of course different circumstances will required different ways that things are run, such as a single mom or widow. I realize all of this. I guess my point with the man being the head of the household is that my husband will be the provider for my family since I want to stay at home with my kids. I’m not saying that zero income will come from me ever- because that isn’t true. I will work and I will bring money in, up until the time I have children. At that time raising them will become my job. And once they start school, maybe I’ll start working part time again. I don’t really know, and really, I have plenty of time to figure that all out.
      I understand how it can seem that I meant my statement in an all encompassing way. If that’s the case one can then argue that whenever it’s stated that “….women belong in the workplace”, it can be viewed as an all encompassing statement as well, despite what may have been implied: hence me stating “I believe” from the beginning. I guess if my instructor is allowed to share what she believes that gives me a right to do the same.

  4. January 14, 2009 6:56 am

    You should have explained it in that way, maybe your instructor wouldn’t have been so harsh. Though, I don’t think that those plans nagate feminism at all.
    I plan on being a stay at home mum too. I want to be like Kate’s mum. Stay at home, keep the house clean, do the cooking, do some of my art, do tons of volunteer work… And Kate’s mum is probably the biggest feminist I know!
    I think part of the feminist movement is that now, because of it, you get to choose that. You get to stay at home because you want to, not because you are forced to by societal norms. Maybe this class will change your mind about what a feminist is, though, I have to agree, your prof seems super over the top about it all. A differing point of view is what helps people learn! She should have embraced that and you.

Leave a Reply

