Skip to content

Knitting Rockstar!

January 8, 2009

So I recently decided to step out in my knitting adventures and try some new projects and patterns. Being snowed in over break forced me a bit to depend on my own intelligence to figure out various patterns and stitches.

My first attempt was the BYOB (Bring Your Own Bag). It’s an awesome green color with brown and cream stripes. I’m not done quite yet but I’ll finish eventually I’m sure. Haha. Here’s some pictures!

The bottom of the bag.

The bottom of the bag.

Beginning of the sides and the stripes. Not to mention my cute stitch marker!

Beginning of the sides and the stripes. Not to mention my cute stitch marker!

Body of the bag! Just the handles left to do!

Body of the bag! Just the handles left to do!

Close op of the body with the fun featherwork.

Close op of the body with the fun featherwork.

The next project that I had to tackle was the hat that I made for Mija for Christmas. It’s the child size of the Banana Republic Hat. It’s a great pattern. love it! It took me 2 tries to get the size down right but It looks awesome on her!

My beautiful model!

My beautiful model!

The killer vintage buttons. My favorite part!

The killer vintage buttons. My favorite part!

Did I mention that I was snowed in over break? Haha. Here’s probably the cutest of my projects. These are the Saartjes Booties. I’m making them for two of our volunteers for CRU that are having baby girls this spring. It thought they’d make the perfect shower gifts!

So cute and fuzzy! I want them in my size!

So cute and fuzzy! I want them in my size!

This next project is one of my prouder moments. This is a scarf that my older brother requested 2 days before Christmas and I got almost half done by then. He knows he’s getting it and has seen it but also know he isn’t getting it for a while now that school has started back up again. I also made the pattern myself. That’s probably my favorite part about it!

P

It took 2.3 seconds for Stella to discover my knitting. 😛

And another second to discover the camera!

And another second to discover the camera!

The amazing reversible cable!

The amazing reversible cable!

P

Yay for more seed stitch! 😛

My final project for this post is by far my favorite. These are the Mermaid Gloves. I’ve loved them since the first time I saw them on Ravelry. I bought the yarn last spring to make these gloves out of. I finally decided that it was time for me to tackle the pattern and just do it. I’m almost to the thumb on the first pair and and loving them more with every stitch of every row. I can’t wait to have them done so I can wear them!

So pretty!

So pretty!

I'm getting there!

I'm getting there!

And just because I can… Here’s a great pic of Mija in Grandma’s slippers. Hee hee!

What a cheeseball!

What a cheeseball!

Well. I guess that can be all for now! Until next time!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2009 1:14 pm

    I LOVE the hat, you did such a great job on it! She looks adorable in it!

  2. January 9, 2009 11:11 pm

    I’m so proud of you!

  3. January 10, 2009 4:50 am

    Hey there! I didn’t know you had a blog! It looks great! I didn’t know you knit. (Just so you know, this is kynsie. I stayed in you room at this years revolve tour)

    • January 10, 2009 5:07 am

      How can I forget you Kynsie?! Thanks for checking it out! 😀

Leave a Reply

