Skip to content

I’ll Be Home For Christmas!

December 21, 2008

So I was kindly reminded the other day that I have a blog. Thanks Sherri. I guess it is about time that I give a bit of an update in what’s been going on in my life.

First off, I made if home from school safely and before all this snow hit! How thankful am I for that. I’ve come to realize that if I did not make it home when I did (last Saturday night) then I would have been stuck there because of the snow that was there as well as here. I’m afraid that I may not have made it home at all. But there is nothing to fear, for I am home! Yay!  This break is a bit different than last year. Not only has there been an amazing amount of snow (and ice :P) but I am not staying at my parents. How weird… I’m staying with my friend Megan. Why you may ask? Well it’s because about a month ago my brother and his family moved in with my parents, taking up all the extra rooms and beds. There was no way that I was going to be sleeping on the couch for 2 weeks. I’ll pass. It has been great having them in town though. I’ve been able to get a lot of auntie time in which has been such a blessing. Mija is totally comfortable being around me now and will even cuddle with me upon occasion. She actually wanted to come back to Megan’s with me one night. I didn’t want to leave after that.

I’ve also started knitting again. I actually started during dead week. I needed some sort of de-stressor so I decided that knitting was the perfect remedy. So far I’m almost done with a great bag. It’s green with brown and cream stripes. I’m hoping to have pictures up at some point. I don’t have a memory card reader with me so I’m going to have to steal my parents. I’ve also started knitting some cute little booties for some friends back at school who are having babies come this spring. I’m already done with one bootie and I started last night. They are such a quick and easy knit! Also a way to keep me sane while I’m trapped inside with all the snow. I’m really glad to be knitting again. It’s gotten my creative juices flowing and now I wish that I had started earlier so I could have made all my Christmas presents. There’s always next year I guess. 😉

Another thing that’s happened most recently is still quite strange for me. Earlier last week I got a friend request on Facebook from my cousin. THis may not seem strange to most but considering I haven’t seen nor talked to her in 5 years, it came as quite a shock. Come to find out her son was doing some family tree project for school so she thought to track me down. I’m so gad she did. The following day we were able to talk for about an hour and catch up a little bit. We both could have talked all day but she had to get back to work. Talking to her opened my eyes to the type of family we both come from. There are many things that are kept very hush hush that both of us feel should be talked about. It’s because of these hushed things that she stopped talking with her dad, which eventually lead to loosing contact with my family. I’ve always wondered what happened and even thought that maybe it was something that my family had done or that she hated us for some reason. That wasn’t the case at all. She misses my family and spending time with us. I’ve missed her a lot too. I’ve always looked up to her and thought of her as that “big sister” type in my life since I never had one. I’m really excited to get to know her again and to stay in touch. Sometimes technology can be such a blessing.

Finally. I’m home. I know I’ve brought it up before but it’s so nice to say. I’m back home with my closest friends who really know me and know how I tick. Instead of talking over the phone and listening to their frustrations with life and feeling so helpless because I’m states away, I’m home. Now I can just embrace the people I love the most and really show them how much I care for them. Theses last few days have been spent spending hours and hours with these people. From spending hours in Starbucks to hours in Casa Mia, from a gabillion movies that have been watched to all the time spent knitting and chatting. This time has been amazing. I’m cherishing every second in these moments. Thank you all for making this break all that it has been.

I guess this is probably a long enough update for now. Until next time (hopefully I’ll have pictures!)- never forget that Jesus is why we celebrate this time of year!

Merry Christmas!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2008 9:26 am

    Thanks for the update! I’ve missed seeing you the past few days. I enjoyed the time with you the other day!

  2. December 24, 2008 4:40 am

    My GOODNESS, you must really be good at knitting!!
    Everytime I see a knitting book, I automatically think of you. I will definitely have to take some lessons from you because I might need that for this summer!!

    Speaking of, how are things going with that application you put in? My friend, Jess, and I were talking yesterday and we’re considering making a HUGE leap with our lives and it made me think of your desire to go abroad this summer.

    Welp, I’m praying for you!! Miss ya!! And OH! Before I forget, I got your “item” and will be e-mailing you some pics of it in a few minutes. (That’s hoping you have your e-mail listed on facebook.) Wow, this is long. Okay, for real. I’m going. Have a great Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

